State Bar Regulations
All students starting law studies must register with the State Bar within 90 days. This may be done on-line. See the “Future Lawyers” page on the State Bar website http://admissions.calbar.ca.gov. It is the student’s responsibility to comply with the admission rules mandated by the State Bar.
The State Bar maintains two office locations:
Office of Admissions
845 South Figueroa Street
Los Angeles, CA 90017-2515
Office of Admissions
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Upon successful completion of the first academic year of law studies, students are eligible to sit for the First Year Law Students’ Examination (FYLSX). The examination is conducted by the State Bar and given twice per year. All Irvine University College of Law students who qualify are required to take the examination.
According to Rule VII of the Rules Regulating Admission to Practice Law in California, a student is required to attend 270 hours of classroom instruction per year at Irvine University College of Law for four (4) years, for a total of 1080 hours, to be eligible to sit for the California State Bar Examination (CA GBX).
“The method of instruction at this law school for the Juris Doctor (JD) degree program is principally in physical classroom facilities”.
“Students enrolled in the J.D. degree program at this law school who successfully complete the first year of law study must pass the First-Year Law Students’ Examination required by Business and Professions Code §6060(h) and Title 4, Division 1, Chapter 1 Rule 4.3(1) of the of the Rules of the State Bar of California as part of the requirements to qualify to take the California Bar Examination. A student who passes the First-Year Law Students’ Examination within three (3) administrations of the examination after first becoming eligible to take it will receive credit for all legal studies completed to the time the examination is passed. A student who doesnot pass the examination within three (3) administrations of the examination after first becoming eligible to take it must be promptly disqualified from the law school’s J.D. degree program. If the dismissed student subsequently passes the examination, the student is eligible for re enrollment in this law school’s J.D. degree program, but will receive credit for only one year of legal study.”
“Study at, or graduation from, this law school may not qualify a student to take the bar examination or to satisfy the requirements for admission to practice in jurisdictions other than California. A student intending to seek admission to practice law in a jurisdiction other than California should contact the admitting authority in that jurisdiction for information regarding the educational requirements in that jurisdiction for admission to the practice of law”.
The administration and operations of IU College of Law are pursuant to ULS Rules and Guidelines promulgated by the State Bar, effective 2008.